Singapore U15s To Depart For Thailand To Participate In AFF Under-15 Championship 2017

Photo: Football Association of Singapore

Aaron Chan
Writer / Editor
The Unofficial S.League Podcast

6 July 2017:  The Singapore Under-15 will travel to Chonburi, Thailand to participate in the ASEAN Football Federation (AFF) Under-15 Championship 2017 from 9th to 22nd July 2017.

The Under-15 Cubs are drawn into Group A and will face Australia, Thailand, Laos, Myanmar, and Indonesia during the group stages of the tournament.

Singapore Under-15 Head Coach Sofiyan Hamid said: “We have been drawn in a tough group and will be playing against last year’s champion Australia, as well as the second runners-up and host Thailand, among others. There are no easy games and we will be looking to do our best in the tournament.”

The Under-15s drew negative criticism online for recently losing 12-0 to a Combined Indonesian Students Team and 4-0 to the Indonesia Under-15s while on a training tour of Jakarta. The Cubs did, however, defeat their Qatari counterparts earlier this year in the Jockey Club International Youth Under-15 Invitational Football Tournament.

The Cubs will kick off their AFF Under-15 Championship campaign on 9th July (Sunday) against Laos.

Last 5 Singapore U-22 Match Results
Indonesia Students Combined Team (U15) 12 - 0 Singapore (U15) | Friendly | 10 June 2017
Indonesia (U15) 4 - 0 Singapore (U15)Friendly | 8 June 2017
Singapore (U15) 3 - 0 Qatar (U15) | Jockey Cup Youth Tournament | 19 March 2017
Thailand (U15) 5 - 1 Singapore (U15) | Jockey Cup Youth Tournament | 18 March 2017
Hong Kong (U15) 6 - 0 Singapore (U15) | Jockey Cup Youth Tournament | 17 March 2017

The players called up for this tournament are:

S/No Name Pos. Age
1 Dylan Christopher Goh Hsien Chun GK 15
2 Jaron Huang Zi Jie GK 15
3 Prima Eldriq Murad GK 14
4 Mohamad Naufal Ilham Bin Mohamad Ismail   DF 14
5 Mohamad Syafiq Bin Mohamad Sani DF 14
6 Mohammad Irfan Bin Roslan DF 15
7 Muhammad Badrul Amin Bin Noh DF 15
8 Muhammad Danish Siregar Bin Sahat Siregar   DF 14
9 Muhammad Farhan Bin Azman DF 14
10 Muhammad Fathullah Bin Rahmat DF 14
11 Muhammad Ryaan Bin Sanizal DF 15
12 Niq Harraz Bin Hamizun Shah DF 15
13 Nicky Melvin Singh DF 15
14 Danish Qayyum Putra Shahrin Azhar MF 15
15 Ilhan Fandi Ahmad MF 14
16 Iman Hakim Ibrahim MF 15
17 Izwan Chik Awang MF 14
18 Khairel Joshry Bin Joffery MF 14
19 Muhammad Farhan Bin Zulkifli MF 14
20 Muhammad Haziq Bin Rosni MF 15
21 Muhammad Rukaifi Bin Juraimi MF 15
22 Kieran Aryan Bin Azhari FW 14
23 Marc Ryan Tan Wei Ming FW 15

Singapore's Fixtures in the AFF Under-15 Championship 2017 Group Stage:

All copyrights © 2017 are attributed to the respective contributors above.